Total Gym XLS Review

Written by Daniel Mesa
Last Updated On

FitDominium.com is independent and supported by our readers. We may earn commissions if you purchase through our links.


total gym xls review

Quick Overview

The Total Gym XLS is a versatile home gym that offers a full-body workout with its smooth gliding motion and adjustable resistance.

Overall Rating 9.1/10:

Specs 8.9/10

Build Quality 9.6/10

Portability 8.1/10

Versatility 8.5/10

Value 9.6/10

Who Should Buy This

  • Those looking for an all-in-one home gym solution
  • People who enjoy bodyweight training
  • People who want/need a low-impact workout

Before You Buy

  • Additional resistance options are limited
  • While compact, still requires large footprint for active use

Get ready to dive into our in-depth Total Gym XLS review, a game-changing home gym equipment that can transform your workouts! We’ll explore its features, benefits, limitations, and customer reviews to help you decide if it’s the right fit for your fitness journey. Say goodbye to dull workouts and join us as we uncover the thrilling world of the Total Gym XLS. Let’s get started!

Total Gym XLS
4.7

Experience the Total Gym XLS - your compact, yet comprehensive home fitness solution. Offering 80+ diverse exercises, easy storage, and gentle-on-joints workouts, it's a game-changer in your journey to achieving robust health and fitness.

Check Price

Total Gym XLS Review: A Quick Look

As someone who has used the Total Gym XLS, I can attest to its effectiveness. It’s an all-in-one fitness machine designed for home use. It utilizes your body weight as resistance, providing a full-body workout that targets various muscle groups. With its glideboard and adjustable incline levels, the Total Gym XLS offers over 80 exercises for strength training, cardio, and stretching. Let’s dive into the specifics to help you assess its suitability for your workout regime.

Our Tips

Before we delve deeper into the review, here are a few tips to keep in mind when considering the Total Gym XLS:

  • Assess your fitness goals: Determine if the Total Gym XLS aligns with your specific objectives, such as muscle toning, weight loss, or overall fitness improvement.
  • Consider space and storage: The Total Gym XLS is a compact home gym, but make sure you have adequate space for its setup and usage.
  • Check user weight limit: Confirm that the Total Gym XLS supports your body weight to ensure safe and effective workouts.

Pros

  • Versatility: With over 80 exercises, the Total Gym XLS offers various workout options for individuals of all fitness levels.
  • Space-saving design: Its compact size makes it suitable for small spaces and easy to store when not in use.
  • Low-impact workouts: The gliding motion and adjustable resistance levels of the Total Gym XLS provide joint-friendly workouts, minimizing the risk of injuries.
  • Quick transitions: Switching between exercises is seamless, allowing efficient and time-saving workouts.
  • Suitable for all fitness levels: The Total Gym XLS accommodates beginners and advanced users alike, with adjustable incline levels to tailor the intensity of workouts.

Cons

  • Learning curve: Some users may require time to become familiar with the machine and its exercises.
  • Limited weight resistance: The Total Gym XLS uses your body weight as resistance, which may not be sufficient for advanced strength training enthusiasts.
  • Potential height limitations: Taller individuals may find their range of motion limited during certain exercises.

Is Total Gym XLS Worth It?

Well, from my personal experience, I can confidently say that it all depends on your fitness goals, preferences, and budget. Let me give you my recommendations:

Great For

  • People looking for versatile and time-efficient workouts at home
  • Those looking for low-impact exercises to minimize strain on joints
  • Users with limited space for bulky fitness equipment

Not Recommended For

  • Serious bodybuilders or weightlifters who require heavy resistance for muscle building
  • People with significant mobility or balance limitations

Understanding who the Total Gym XLS is ideal for and not recommended for can help you decide whether you want the equipment. I found it a fantastic choice for versatile workouts at home, especially if you prefer exercises that are gentle on your joints and have limited space. However, serious bodybuilders or weightlifters looking for heavy resistance and individuals with mobility or balance limitations may not find it ideal.

Total Gym XLS Specs

FeatureSpecifications
Weight CapacityUp to 400 lbs (181 kg)
Dimensions90.5″ L x 19″ W x 43″ H
Incline Levels6 levels
AttachmentsWing attachment, leg pull accessory, squat stand

Using The Total Gym XLS

The Total Gym XLS offers a straightforward and intuitive workout experience. Here’s what you can expect:

Build Quality

I must say, the Total Gym XLS is impressively sturdy. It’s made with high-quality materials that ensure durability and long-lasting performance. The glideboard, rails, and pulleys are solidly constructed to withstand regular use, giving me confidence in their reliability. 

Resistance Levels

One of the best features of the Total Gym XLS is its adjustable incline levels. With six different settings, I can easily control the intensity of my workouts. As I increase the incline, I immediately feel the resistance increasing, providing a challenging and effective workout. It’s great to have this flexibility to match my fitness level and gradually progress over time.

Exercise Options

The Total Gym XLS truly offers a wide range of exercise options. It covers all major muscle groups, including the upper body, lower body, and core. From strength training exercises like chest presses and rows to cardio exercises and even stretching, it provides a comprehensive and well-rounded workout experience. I love how I can switch between exercises seamlessly, targeting different muscle groups without needing multiple machines.

Here’s a list of exercises you can do with the Total Gym XLS

ExerciseTargeted Muscle Groups
SquatsLower body
Chest PressChest muscles
Shoulder PressShoulder muscles
Leg CurlsHamstrings
Bicep CurlsBiceps
Tricep ExtensionsTriceps
Abdominal CrunchesCore muscles
Lat PulldownsBack and shoulder muscles
Pilates ExercisesVarious muscle groups
Stretching ExercisesFlexibility and range of motion

Attachments

The Total Gym XLS includes three essential attachments: the wing attachment, leg pull accessory, and squat stand. These attachments have been a game-changer for me, as they expand my exercise options and add more variety to my workouts.

AttachmentPurpose
Wing AttachmentProvides added stability and support during exercises, particularly for upper body movements. It allows for a wider range of exercises and variations.
Leg Pull AccessoryTargets the lower body, specifically the legs, and glutes. It enables exercises such as leg curls and extensions, helping to strengthen and tone the lower body muscles.
Squat StandSupports proper squatting form and technique. It allows you to perform squats, one of the most effective exercises for strengthening the lower body, with enhanced stability and balance.

These attachments with the Total Gym XLS have elevated my workout routine. They have opened up a new world of possibilities and made my workouts more engaging and effective. 

Total Gym XLS Assembly

Setting up the Total Gym XLS is straightforward, with clear instructions and minimal assembly required. I had an easy and hassle-free assembly process. But it can be difficult for first-timers. Is it your first time using a Total Gym XLS? Follow the steps below on assembling the machine:

  1. Unbox the Total Gym XLS and lay out all the components and parts in a clear and spacious area.
  2. Identify the main frame and unfold it to its full length. Make sure the frame is in a stable position.
  3. Attach the glideboard to the main frame by aligning the rails and sliding it into place. Ensure that it is securely connected.
  4. Attach the wing attachment, if included, by inserting the pins into the designated holes on the frame. Make sure it is firmly in place.
  5. If the leg pull accessory is included, attach it by sliding the attachment over the frame and securing it with the provided locking pins. Ensure that it is properly aligned and stable.
  6. If the squat stand is included, attach it to the frame by inserting its pins into the designated holes. Ensure that it is securely in place.
  7. Once all attachments are properly installed, double-check all connections and ensure they are secure.
  8. Finally, refer to the user manual or instructional video provided by the manufacturer for any additional steps or adjustments specific to the Total Gym XLS model you have.

Total Gym Fit vs Total Gym XLS

Total Gym FitTotal Gym XLS
Exercises85+80+
Resistance Levels126
AttachmentsAbCrunch
Leg Pull
Upgraded Squat Stand
2-piece Wing Attachment
Leg Pull
Ribbed Squat Stand
Wing Attachment
Weight Capacity450 lb400 lb
WarrantyLifetime frame
2 year parts
Lifetime frame
6 month parts

Total Gym FIT
4.7

Introducing the Total Gym Fit: your ultimate home fitness solution. Experience a full-body workout with over 85 exercises, adjustable resistance levels, and sleek design. Elevate your fitness game today!

Check Price

In Total Gym’s extensive lineup, the closest thing you will find to the FIT is probably the Total Gym XLS. The XLS is one of the best Total Gym Models and also comes packed with features. 

There is no question to us which one is better. The FIT comes with a better warranty, more exercise options, a higher weight capacity, and double the resistance options. Not to mention, it also includes the AbCrunch which costs well over $100 if you were to purchase it separately. 

However, the extra features of the FIT do come at around a $600 premium. In our opinion, the value is certainly there to justify the price difference. If you already shopping for a home gym, it would make sense to just go ahead and upgrade to the more extensive option.

That being said, everyone has their own budget and needs. If the FIT seems like too much home gym for you, the XLS is still a great piece of equipment and can certainly get the job done for many people. Check out our Total Gym FIT review for more details.

Customer Experience

Total Gym is known for providing excellent customer support. Whenever I had questions or concerns about the Total Gym XLS, their representatives were always available to assist me. They were friendly and went above and beyond to ensure I had a positive experience with their product.

Returns

One of the great things about Total Gym is its 30-day money-back guarantee. This gave me the confidence to try the Total Gym XLS without any risk. If I found that it didn’t meet my expectations or wasn’t suitable for my needs, I could easily return it for a refund. This flexible return policy showed me that Total Gym stands behind its product and wants its customers to be fully satisfied.

Warranty

The Total Gym XLS warranty impressed me. It comes with a limited lifetime warranty on the frame, which gave me confidence in its durability and long-term performance. Additionally, it has a one-year warranty on parts, ensuring that any potential issues or defects will be handled. Knowing that I had this warranty coverage reassured me.

Financing

Total Gym understands that investing in fitness equipment can be a significant financial commitment. That’s why I was pleased to discover that they offer financing options. This made the Total Gym XLS more accessible, as I could pay in installments rather than a lump sum. The financing options helped me manage my budget while still enjoying the benefits of the Total Gym XLS.

Total Gym XLS Customer Reviews

Versatility: ★★★★★

The Total Gym XLS is highly versatile, offering a wide range of exercises that target various muscle groups. Customers appreciate the ability to perform strength training and cardio exercises on a single machine, making it a versatile and time-saving option for their fitness routines.

Ease of Use: ★★★★☆

Customers find the Total Gym XLS relatively easy to use. The adjustable incline and resistance levels allow users to customize their workouts according to their fitness levels and goals. The glide board and pulley system provides smooth and controlled movements during exercises.

Effectiveness: ★★★★☆

Customers report positive results with the Total Gym XLS in terms of strength building, toning muscles, and improving overall fitness. Combining bodyweight resistance and the ability to target specific muscle groups contributes to its effectiveness.

Build Quality: ★★★★☆

The Total Gym XLS is well-built and sturdy, capable of supporting users during various exercises. The frame and materials are of good quality, ensuring stability and durability. Some customers noted that certain components could be more robust or that there was slight wobbling during intense exercises.

Customer Support: ★★★★☆

Total Gym provides responsive customer support, assisting customers with any inquiries or issues they may have. Customers appreciate the helpful resources, such as user manuals and instructional videos. However, a few customers reported slightly delayed response times or minor difficulties in reaching customer support.

Final Verdict: Total Gym XLS Review

The Total Gym XLS is a versatile home gym that delivers a full-body workout. With its smooth gliding motion and adjustable resistance, it caters to all fitness levels. While the price may be a bit steep, its durability and multi functionality make it a worthwhile investment for those committed to achieving their fitness goals.

Total Gym XLS Rating

Specs 8.9/10

Build Quality 9.6/10

Portability 8.1/10

Versatility 8.5/10

Value 9.6/10

Final Verdict


Overall 9.1/10:

The Total Gym XLS: Versatile, full-body workout at home. Smooth gliding, adjustable resistance. Pricey but durable; worth it for committed fitness enthusiasts.”

FAQs

Can the Total Gym XLS help with weight loss?

Yes, the Total Gym XLS can contribute to weight loss when combined with a balanced diet and regular exercise routine. It provides cardio and strength training exercises that promote calorie burn and muscle toning.

Is the Total Gym XLS suitable for beginners?

Absolutely! The Total Gym XLS is designed to accommodate users of all fitness levels, including beginners. Its adjustable incline levels allow for gradual progress and customization based on individual capabilities.

Can I perform upper body exercises on the Total Gym XLS?

Yes, the Total Gym XLS offers a wide range of upper body exercises, including chest presses, rows, shoulder presses, and bicep curls, allowing you to target and strengthen your upper body muscles.

Leave a Comment